Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater | Review

Posted January 13, 2017 by Samantha in reviews / 0 Comments

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater | ReviewThe Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater
Published by Scholastic Press on September 17th 2013
Genres: YA Contemporary, YA Fantasy, YA Paranormal Romance
Pages: 448
Goodreads
five-stars

The second installment in the all-new series from the masterful, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater!
Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

I had every intention of doing a video review for The Dream Thieves after I read it but then got nervous, since it was so close to the release of The Raven King, that I would get spoiled for later books in the series. Whether blatant spoiling or simply from people dropping subtle hints about later developments I’d be speculating about in my review… So I put it off.

I’ve already done a video review on The Raven Cycle here, and a lot of my thoughts remain the same for The Dream Thieves. The world feels magical and dark, and that atmosphere carries into everything about the reading experience. I actually liked this book far more than the first one, one of the main reasons most likely being that it was less scary for me. I walk a fine line with these books and they can creep me out at times, so I feel I have to be on guard and can’t fully connect with the story. Since The Dream Thieves takes a bit of a break from the main plot, it allowed me to connect a bit more. That may either be a plus or a minus for some people, as I know some reviewers hated that it strayed from the main plot too much. I personally liked a lot of the back story we got on various characters, and delving more into dream magic and it’s ramifications. I also found the villain enigmatic yet tragic, and the entire tone of this installment is something I wish we’d be getting more of. But sadly, for me, we will be returning to the main plot in the next book. And I’ll return to being on edge.

This second book stays true to the tone of the overall story, and the deep focus on this band of characters and their relationships. Fans of the series will enjoy this book, even if it meanders a bit more than some may like.

five-stars

Tags: , ,


Everneath by Brodi Ashton | Review

Posted January 4, 2017 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Everneath by Brodi Ashton | ReviewEverneath (Everneath, #1) by Brodi Ashton
Published by Balzer + Bray on January 24th 2012
Genres: YA Paranormal Romance
Pages: 370
Goodreads
two-stars

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.
Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.
As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.
Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

I’m always on the search for good Hades and Persephone retellings. This summary gave me hope. It talks about a girl who survived the underworld and comes back to the surface. Even without the obvious Persephone themes, those are some of my buzzwords. The marketing and design of the cover also scream Hades and Persephone. Unfortunately… that was all a ruse.

This is not a Hades and Persephone retelling. This is more of an Orpheus and Eurydice retelling, with a random “love triangle” thrown in. Except I wouldn’t even consider it a love triangle, because, to me, that implies that both love interests have an equal chance. They don’t. It’s very obvious from the beginning who Nikki has chosen. Which is fine, except it makes the whole love triangle thing even more pointless than it usually is.

If this was marketed like the Orpheus and Eurydice retelling that it is, I think it would be more successful and would have gotten a higher rating from me as I would have had realistic expectations. I know Hades and Persephone is pretty marketable right now, but it’s not as if Orpheus and Eurydice is unpopular. In fact, there are plenty of people seeking retellings of the myth as well.

Aside from all of that, the writing style isn’t anything to write home about. Although it’s a quick read, there are a few things used that I don’t tend to enjoy. Most prominently, the always annoying Capitalization Of Random Words To Denote Importance In This World. For example, Everlings. Eveneath. Feed. The author then chooses to not really explain these things at all, just uses the capitalization to show they are ~important~. The reader is very much thrown into the story with no explanation.

Overall, I considered this story a letdown. The characters weren’t anything to write home about, the writing is fairly mediocre, and I don’t find the romance very compelling. I have continued with the series, because it’s easy and I do plan on reading anything even vaguely “Hades and Persephone”, but it’s not something I’d recommend to most people.

two-stars

Tags: , , ,


Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis | Review

Posted January 3, 2017 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis | ReviewPersephone (Daughters of Zeus, #1) by Kaitlin Bevis
Published by BelleBooks Publishing on April 24th 2015
Genres: YA Fantasy, YA Paranormal Romance
Pages: 194
Goodreads

Daughters of Zeus, Book One
One day Persephone is an ordinary high school junior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.
There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?
Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.

Tags: , , ,


Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout | REVIEW

Posted May 8, 2016 by Samantha in reviews / 0 Comments

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout | REVIEWOnyx (Lux, #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Entangled Teen on August 14th 2012
Genres: YA Paranormal Romance
Pages: 366
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarre connection. I’ve sworn him off even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But against all common sense, I’m falling for him. Hard.
Our relationship issues aren’t out biggest problem…
The Department of Defense is here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And when a new boy shows up a school with a secret of his own, things get complicated fast. I need to choose between my own instincts and Daemon’s.
But then everything changes…
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. Daemon’s never going to stop searching until gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies.

I picked up Onyx during Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon in 2015 because Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing is so quick to read. Her books are like cotton candy to me. Delicious, fun, and an occasional indulgence, but not something I can live off of.

Onyx picks up right where Obsidian left off. Katy and Daemon continue with never-ending “will they won’t they” dance for the majority of the book, which is a little tedious. I enjoyed and appreciated their reluctance to get together in the first book, but after events of the first book, that back and forth lasted a bit too long in Onyx. It is very obvious to us, as readers, that they are going to get together so what is the point in prolonging the inevitable?

With that being said, I still enjoyed their dynamic. Daemon is much more likeable in this book, although he’s still not someone I would personally want to date. Armentrout’s writing continues to be fun and easy to read. With Katy being a book blogger, there are nods to bloggers sprinkled throughout that I always enjoy.

Ultimately, this series continues to be one I’ll reach for when I need to get out of a slump or want something to inhale read.

three-half-stars

Tags: , , ,


Syrena Legacy Trilogy by Anna Banks | REVIEW

Posted April 20, 2015 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Of Poseidon (The Syrena Legacy, #1) by Anna Banks
Published by Feiwel & Friends on May 22nd 2012
Genres: YA Paranormal Romance
Pages: 324
Goodreads

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he's heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen—literally, ouch!—both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma's gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom...
Told from both Emma and Galen's points of view, here is a fish-out-of-water story that sparkles with intrigue, humor, and waves of romance.

 

Tags: , , ,