Genre: YA Historical Fiction

Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman | ARC Review

Posted January 7, 2017 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman | ARC ReviewBlackhearts (Blackhearts, #1) by Nicole Castroman
Published by Simon Pulse on February 9th 2016
Genres: YA Historical Fiction
Pages: 384
Goodreads

Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything.
Edward "Teach" Drummond, son of one of Bristol's richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There's just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.
Following her parents' deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she's stuck in England?
From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.

Tags: , , ,


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Review

Posted January 5, 2017 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | ReviewPassenger (Passenger, #1) by Alexandra Bracken
on January 5th 2016
Genres: YA Fantasy, YA Historical Fiction
Pages: 496
Goodreads

Passage, n.i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.ii. A journey by water; a voyage.iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.
In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.
Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.
Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home... forever.
Alternate cover for this ISBN can be found here

Tags: , , , ,


Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson | ARC REVIEW

Posted September 21, 2015 by Samantha in booktube, reviews / 0 Comments

Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1) by Rae Carson
Published by Greenwillow Books on September 22nd 2015
Genres: YA Fantasy, YA Historical Fiction
Pages: 432
Goodreads

Gold is in my blood, in my breath, even in the flecks in my eyes.
Lee Westfall has a strong, loving family. She has a home she loves and a loyal steed. She has a best friend—who might want to be something more.
She also has a secret.
Lee can sense gold in the world around her. Veins deep in the earth. Small nuggets in a stream. Even gold dust caught underneath a fingernail. She has kept her family safe and able to buy provisions, even through the harshest winters. But what would someone do to control a girl with that kind of power? A person might murder for it.
When everything Lee holds dear is ripped away, she flees west to California—where gold has just been discovered. Perhaps this will be the one place a magical girl can be herself. If she survives the journey.
The acclaimed Rae Carson begins a sweeping new trilogy set in Gold Rush-era America, about a young woman with a powerful and dangerous gift.

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,


Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman | ARC REVIEW + Giveaway

Posted August 29, 2015 by Samantha in reviews / 0 Comments

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman | ARC REVIEW + GiveawayVengeance Road by Erin Bowman
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on September 1st 2015
Genres: YA Historical Fiction
Pages: 327
Goodreads
four-stars

Revenge is worth its weight in gold.
When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.

I received an ARC of this book at BEA, and was also mailed a second ARC from the publisher for review. All opinions are my own.

Vengeance Road was exactly what I wanted in a Western. As a fan of the genre, I was craving exactly what I got with this book. A lot of the speech is written phonetically, which really helps to world build. The beautiful map doesn’t hurt either.

I enjoyed our main character. She has a lot of snark and is both stubborn and reckless; exactly what you want in this kind of story. I was also pleasantly surprised by the fact that there was not a love triangle in this book. The synopsis made me think that it might go that way, but thankfully, it did not and the book was better off for it. Being a standalone, there was no time for that kind of plot.

Overall, there were some elements of the story that were predictable and fit into many of the Western tropes, but I found that more comforting and nostalgic than annoying. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a solid Western that doesn’t want to sit through multiple books to have the story wrapped up.

giveaway:

I am giving away an ARC of Vengeance Road. This giveaway is US only, and will run through September 7, 2015. Winner will be contacted via email and will have 48 hours to respond before another winner is chosen. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

four-stars

Tags: ,